Tampa Bay

The Tampa Bay Lightning began their inaugural season in 1992 after the National Hockey League awarded the Tampa Bay area an expansion team two years earlier.
In their 30 year history, the Bolts have become one of the NHL’s model franchises, making 14 playoff appearances, six trips to the Eastern Conference Final, and winning three Stanley Cups. In winning back-to-back Stanley Cups in 2020 and 2021, the Lightning became the eighth team in NHL history to successfully defend their championship in the following year.
The Tampa Bay Lightning, as well as the leasehold rights to AMALIE Arena, were purchased by Jeff Vinik in March 2010. Since taking over, Vinik has executed an organizational plan to fuel a comprehensive brand transformation, while also making a significant positive impact in the Tampa Bay community. In his 12 years of ownership, Vinik has transformed the Lightning into a world-class franchise, created an unrivaled fan experience for guests of AMALIE Arena and helped the Bolts become a team Tampa Bay sports fans are proud to support both on and off the ice.